Friday Two Cents: My Community and Traditions


 twoCentsOldNew

This week many people celebrated the festival of Ash Wednesday.  For many Christians, it is the beginning of the Lenten celebration leading up to Easter.  Being Maltese, I am Catholic and this is the largest celebration in our calendar.  Yet I have never really liked the whole season.  I understand it and go through the traditional ceremonies but it has never really been a happy time for me. 

I guess because my grand parents died during this time and the whole idea of Jesus dying and suffering makes me feel sad.  I now it is about rebirth and dying for our sins but still I do not like to see people suffer. 

This year I went to Ash Wednesday service for the first time in years.  It was the same as I remember it but the priest said something that made me think.  We came together for the service not just for religious reasons but we are all there because we are a community.  I thought about that and he was right I was there to be part of a community.  Even though Lent is not my favourite time it is a tradition from my culture and it brings my community and me together. 

In recent days I have felt alone and detached from my community.  But upon further reflection it is not just the past week but it has been present for some time.  I work in the public school system and the one thing that I think is missing is this common thread that binds everyone. 

I went to Catholic school mostly because my friends went but after I realized that we all might have come from different backgrounds, but we all had one thing in common.  Our traditions from our beliefs.  That is what is missing working in the public school system.  Because we celebrate all traditions from every culture it has made all the celebrations dull and meaningless, including my own. 

I needed to remember my own traditions because they are a part of me, which makes them special.  Maybe I need to rethink my future in teaching.  I have been trying to upgrade my degree and go to teacher’s college but I was seriously thinking of doing the catholic stream and look for a job in the catholic school board.  With recent events and a reminder of community, I am going to have to truly look at it more closely. 

I never thought that I would miss this sense of community.  I guess always being politically correct and making sure that everyone else’s traditions where respected, I forgot to respect my own.   Hmm, well that stops now.  My traditions are as important as anyone else’s.  After all if I don’t respect my own traditions no one else will.  With my recent revelation it would appear that no one has. 

Therefore I am going to let go of this political correctness that the system is pushing on me and celebrate my traditions proudly. I’m going to make sure that I celebrate my traditions and not let anyone make me feel guilty about doing so.  After all we live in a free society and I have the right and freedom to celebrate my traditions as much as anyone else. 

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

