Comic Strip: Never Happy


 ComicStrips

This month’s newsletter has gone out to the parents and the comic strip ‘The Craziest Things’, with it.  This month’s comic is centred on the age-old idea that if you have everything it is still not enough.  With the children, I see it all the time.  They have the latest electronics but they don’t want it because it is out of date and they want the newest thing.  Or they have everything you could want, a good family, parents that love you, good school and if you are lucky you get to go on a vacation to someplace exotic.  Yet with all this ‘stuff’ they will find fault in anything. 

I have seen and heard children talking like they do in the comic strip.  They go away someplace fantastic but are not satisfied because they want something else.  Or they didn’t get something they wanted to their liking.  I wonder if I was like that?

I have a wonderful family and growing up I had only a few things but they made me happy.  Sure I wanted other things but I was content with what I got because we didn’t have much.  Is that what its all about?  If you don’t have much you are grateful for what you do get and if you have everything you still want more? 

I remember reading a study on the subject of happiness conducted around the world showing that countries in the developing world show a higher happiness level than Americans.  It would appear they are not happy with what they have, they want more.  Even if people win the lottery after the initial celebration of winning, people begin to become complacent and want more to feel those emotions again.  Perhaps this is what these kids and people are feeling.

I see a lot of parents giving everything their kids want and yet they are not satisfied.  Dare I say they seem spoiled?  Even when we went on family vacations I was happy and usually I made the best of what I was given. 

Oh well, the difference in the generations has been debated for centuries or is it about happiness?  Lets just sit back and enjoy laughing at the newest generation screw-up things.  Than we can sneak up behind this generation of kids and say, “YES!!  Revenge is mine!” and laugh out loud because it’s not us who screwed up.

Hope you enjoy the latest Comic Strip: Never Happy. 

March2014NL04

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

