Friday Two Cents: What More Could I Ask For


twoCentsOldNew

 This week I started up my drawing club/class with the children afterschool.  It already has been a success because the response was overwhelming.  I was expecting 15-18 children wanting to participate; instead I received 30, which was a pleasant surprise.  I decided to create two drawing classes because I do not want to turn away or discourage anyone who wanted to join and I was rewarded with what I saw and heard.

I began the classes with the basics, using basic shapes like circles, ovals, squares and triangles to create objects and cartoon characters.  I then showed them how to draw Olaf from Frozen and their eyes lite up.  They were so attentive and eager to learn and participate. 

I am including a small sketch I did really fast with the children and a description that I used to help draw Olaf so you too can try to draw him too.   

In image 1 you can see I started with the middle oval/rectangle to create the middle part of his body.  I then drew a triangle with rounded corners for the head and a larger rectangle for the lower part of the body.  I told them when drawing these shapes you have to not press too hard because we will be erasing some parts and adding more details.  That these three shapes are just the start, the guide, to creating a wonderful character. 

The second image is where you add the details to create the character.  We started with drawing lines to create the shape of the head and erasing the corners of the head to create a bump on the top.  Then you draw two circles for the eyes and a curved triangle for the carrot nose and a large triangle for the mouth with a rectangle for his tooth. 

His eyebrows are simple lines over his eyes and his hairs are twigs or lines coming out of the top of his head.  His arms and hands are the same as the hair except his only has four fingers not five like us.  I said many cartoon characters have only four fingers; a prime example is Mickey Mouse.

To finish off we drew the feet and the coal buttons as ovals.  There you have it a cute little character we drew in about ten minutes. 

 

Olaf Drawing 1

Olaf Drawing 1

 

 

Olaf Drawing 2

Olaf Drawing 2

The children were so excited and pleased with their efforts they all came and showed me their version and they all did a fantastic job.  Yet the best were the comments after the class when their parents came to pick them up.  When asked if they enjoyed drawing club they would say, “Yeah, I love drawing club!”  What more could I ask for. 

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

