Friday Two Cents: Let It Go


 twoCentsOldNew

Another year gone; a year of trials, tribulations and triumphs; of mending bridges and building new ones.  For many people 2013 couldn’t end soon enough, and for me it was a turbulent year, yet also filled with wonderful surprises. 

One of the surprises was the cultivation of a new realization that what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger.  Over the year I was coming to grips with some personal ordeals.  From recovering from my break-up, to not getting a fulltime job that I really worked hard trying to get.  Things were not working out for me.  Yet when you fall you must find the courage to pick yourself up and continue with life.  So I trudged on, worked hard trying to forget the past and work towards a brighter future. 

That’s exactly what I did.  After much reflection I realized my break-up was just a bump on the road and I had to move on and the same with my job situation.  It wasn’t easy but the one thing that helped was indulging in my artistic pursuits.  Drawing, creating and posting on this blog gave me the creative push I needed to be myself.  For when I created pieces if art I felt like this was what I was meant to do. 

I began feeling like my old self again and things started happening.  I made new friends and I got closer to my old ones.  My family, especially my beautiful nieces or little princesses, helped to remind me how amazing life can be.  The full-time job situation did not pan out but I did get in as a part-timer.  School was difficult but with the help of a friend I got through it. 

I just kept going until one day I went to see ‘Frozen’ with my niece.  The movie was excellent but there was one scene where the main character Elsa reflects on her situation about her powers being revealed.  She has been afraid for years about her secret coming out, just trying to be normal.  But once her secret is out she is finally able to be herself. 

The song is beautiful and speaks of letting go of the past and just being you.  For once you let go of the past then you can truly shine.  

When I saw this scene I realized that is exactly what happened to me.  When I had the problems I mentioned, I held them inside and I couldn’t let go of the past.  Even creating art was illusive for me because I was holding on to the past.  Not until I realized that I had to let go, did I begin to be myself, to create and enjoy life.  Just like the character Elsa, when she let’s go of her doubts and fears, then can she be herself and create wonderful things. 

I came to this epiphany late in the year, but on reflection I began letting go half way through the year.  I kept letting go of something that was holding me back, everyday.  People even commented on how I looked and acted different once I freed myself of my burdens.  I still have some more to do but now that I know about it I am going to make a more conscious effort to let it go.

So, that is what my goal for 2014 is.  To let go of the past and just be me.  For when I did that, my mind was free to explore the imagination of my soul and then, amazing things happened. 

Please feel free to look at the video of the song from ‘Frozen’.  Hopefully it can inspire you to ‘Let It Go’ as it did for me. 

And just like the lyrics from the song say,

I will try and live by these words everyday …

 ‘It’s time to see what I can do

To test the limits and break through


No right, no wrong, no rules for me,

I’m free!’

3 Responses to Friday Two Cents: Let It Go

  1. cav12 says:

    Beautifully expressed Paul. May 2014 bring you the happiness you seek. 😀

    • Paul Gauchi says:

      Thank you for your kind words, and may 2014 be full of wonder, excitement and prosperity for you and your family.

      • cav12 says:

        Thank you 😀

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

