Friday Two Cents: Christmas Is Alive And Well


twoCentsOldNew 

This past week I was supplying in a school that I was in from the beginning of the school year.  I was in the third kindergarten class of three in the school.  I supplied in the first for two weeks and then the second for eight.  The classes are different but the curriculum and program by the teachers are the same.  But that is not what I want to talk about, but what the entire school was doing for this final week before Christmas break.  

We had school this week for four days, Friday being an unpaid Professional Activity (P.A.) Day, therefore Thursday was our last day before the break.  Yet everyday this week we went to the gym and had an assembly that was open to the parents.  The assembly was a time for the school to sing Christmas carols. 

Each kindergarten class would prepare a song that they would perform in front of the school and parents.  The class I was in, performed Wednesday and I have to tell you they were not in sync for the actions and words and they sang a bit off-key, but it was adorable non-the-less.  Every kindergarten performed and it was all the same but all adorable. 

After the performances we sat and the music teacher lead us in singing some Christmas carols.  It was surprisingly enjoyable.  The fact that a public school would sing carols was refreshing but also it reminded me of when I was in elementary school and we would do the same.  Today there is so much political correctness in whatever we have to do in the school that I am beyond sick of it. 

I started my school life in public school and I truly did not enjoy it.  I had bullies and the teachers where not that enjoyable or inspiring.  The only thing I enjoyed was the Christmas assemblies were we sang carols.  In the fourth grade my parents had enough of the poor teaching and other issues in the public school system and I went to the Catholic School Board for the fifth grade.  There I flourished and I can remember every teacher and what they taught and inspired me to do.  And of course Christmas was always celebrated without question, right up to my final year in high school.  So celebrating Christmas has always been important to my community and me. 

But since university and working in the public school board they have taken all the fun out of the season.  I cannot even say Merry Christmas to people without being told to say Happy Holidays.  I understand that there are other cultures that do not celebrate Christmas and I have to be sensitive to them but you know what, why aren’t they sensitive to me.  They have the right, which they make abundantly clear that their culture and traditions are important to them.  Well I say right back at them, I have the right to celebrate my own traditions too and that is singing Christmas carols, assembling my tree and Christmas town and train set and wishing people a Merry or Happy Christmas. 

People have to remember that rights go both ways.  I will respect your rights but you also have to respect mine. 

Therefore, to celebrate my traditions, in the spirit of exercising my right,

I would like to wish a Merry Christmas to all and to all a Good Night. 

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

