Comic Strips: Partial Mark


 

The second issue of the school newsletter is out and as usual, the comic strip too.  Many of you who have read my comics may know, I always use the children of the senior grade 5s as my inspiration for the comics.  I will draw every grade five in the program as a fun cartoon caricature. 

Many of the other children ask why don’t I use the other grades too.  I tell them that these children are the graduating class and they deserve their moment.  Also it is hard enough trying to draw 15 – 18 children and place them into 8 – 10 comic strips, just imagine 130.  Therefore I had to limit the amount of children to draw. 

Many of my themes for the comics are the differences between the generations.  In some cases it has to deal with technology but in others it is how much children have advanced or matured in comparison to the previous generations.  There are times when I do a double take because what came out of their mouths was something a grown up might say, but it came from a child. 

This particular scenario did not happen word for word, but there are days when I ask the children something and the look and their attitude sound just like this comic.  I thought of it in this way because there are days I too think to myself,  “Do I get a partial mark for having the courage to get out of bed to face the world for another day?”

To be honest, don’t many of us think the exact same thing?  Something to ponder when you have a task to do and you really wish you could just stay in bed.  Surprisingly children think the same way. 

Enjoy.

Nov2013NL04

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

