Friday Two Cents: A Sparkle In My Eyes!!


 twoCentsOldNew

Well this week has been a real rollercoaster ride.  I started in a new school, in the morning, with a new bunch of kindergarten kids during a very busy week, Halloween.  Add to that I had the football house league playoffs and finals in the after school program in my old school, as well. 

Halloween Costume: Rene D'Herblay aka Aramis

Halloween Costume: Rene D’Herblay aka Aramis

Halloween was a celebration for the kids in both schools.  I dressed up as Aramis from the Three Musketeers and kids and I had a lot of fun after a busy first half of the week.  Halloween was busy but it was a time to relax and have fun imagining and pretending to be someone else.  It was also a way for everyone, including myself, to wind down after a very heart wrenching two days of football.  

The week began quietly but come Tuesday we had the playoff games for football.  The kids played with sportsmanship and heart, unfortunately, there had to be only two winning teams going to the finals and the others were a little heart-broken.  There were a few tears among the children but I told them that it was all right to feel this way.  They are very competitive and they all wanted to win. 

Therefore, on Wednesday we had the championship game between the Dolphins and Eagles.  In the school program the teachers look after a team each, one reason was to get to know the children and the other to help guide them through the year.  Very much like the professors who look after the different houses at Hogwarts in the Harry Potter series.  My team is the Dolphins, and they were going into the finals with a perfect 8 – 0 record.  For those of you who do not know this reference they won 8 out of 8 games.  I helped all the teams with their strategy and lineups but these were my kids and I did not treat them any differently.  They got mo special treatment. 

However, there was a part of me that wanted them to win.  In the past with baseball, I would umpire the games and I had teams I looked after, but I never felt as strongly about my group of kids winning as I did this year.  Maybe it was because they were 8 – 0 or perhaps the Dolphins never won any championship series, ever in the school.  But I really wanted then to win and all day, the up coming game was all I could think about.  Well the game arrived and the children all played a great game.  It was very close and I will break it down for you.

The Dolphins scored first to make it 7-0 with the extra point.  The Eagle received the ball but cannot do anything with it.  The Dolphins toke possession but they too had to give it away.  But the Eagles made their way down the field and scored a touchdown to tie the score 7-7.  After the Dolphins did nothing with the ball the Eagles toke possession and scored a touchdown but miss the extra point to make it 7-13 Eagles.  The Dolphins then got the ball and after a hard march down the field they scored a touchdown, but they too missed the extra point to tie the game at 13-13. 

Excellence Bowl

Excellence Bowl

After the Eagles punt the ball away on their next possession, the Dolphins made their way down the field to within 5 yards of the goal line.  It was 4th and goal with 2 ½ minutes left to play, so they kicked a field goal for three points to take the lead 16-13.  The Eagles made a last-minute drive to score with 2 minutes left to play.  But with the 6th play of the drive the Dolphins intercepted the ball with one-minute left to play.  The Dolphins had the ball and instead of running down the field they elected to run the ball around to eat up the clock.  When the time ran out, the Dolphins had won the First Excellence Bowl with a final score of 16-13.  And then my heart could take a break.  WOW!!!

We congratulated the Eagles for a great game but a few tears were here too.  Even I felt for the kids, they worked hard but in the end the better team won. 

Before I presented the trophy, I went up to the Dolphins and congratulated them.  I asked them why they won?  They all said because I taught then how to play and think strategically.  I said yes I did but the real reason was something else.  They won because of teamwork.  I told them, didn’t they notice that whenever the other teams were behind in the score they lost focus and turned on each other.  That when you were behind you worked together to get the job done.  They all looked surprised and said yes.  I told them they won the game as a team and that I was proud of them.  They were all happy and when they got the trophy, you could see every one of then was excited about getting it, boys and girls alike. 

Victory

Victory

I took over the football program because I was hoping to teach the kids how to play football and to have some fun.  Yet the kids taught me something too.  They taught me to get excited again.  For the past year I just was going through the motions because of personal reasons and only recently have I began really getting excited about things and being my old self again.  Even a few friends have mentioned that about a year ago I did not have that “Sparkle in my eyes” when they saw me.  But now they can see the sparkle once again. 

 

Thanks kids for helping to ignite that sparkle in my eyes again. 

2 Responses to Friday Two Cents: A Sparkle In My Eyes!!

  1. cav12 says:

    Like the new look of your blog Paul. Very classy 😀

    • Paul Gauchi says:

      Thank You.

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

