Art Inspiration: Staff Cartoons The Dream Team: Miranda Priestly


StaffCartoons01 

I have been told in the past and in recent days, that I have been an inspiration to the children at school and to other people in general.  I have always found this interesting because I feel that these people and the children inspire me to create art and images instead of the other way around.

One example is when I drew the staff at my school as cartoon characters.  It started one year around Christmas when we have our Christmas concert and staff dinner.  Always after the concert, we go out for dinner and we exchange gifts, such as a Chris Kringle.  I wanted to liven things up and instead of giving Christmas cards, I decided to create my own with the staff members as a character from a movie.  The staff members were surprised to say the least and they loved it, with a couple of exceptions on some humorous levels. 

Miranda Priestly (Meryl Streep) and Andrea Sac...

Miranda Priestly (Meryl Streep) and Andrea Sachs (Anne Hathaway): pre-release still photograph from the film The Devil Wears Prada; this also is the novel’s redesigned cover. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The next character is modeled after Meryl Streep and her portrayal of Miranda Priestly from the 2006 film Devil Wears Prada.  She is the formidable and feared editor-in-chief of a magazine call Runway.  Everyone fears her at the magazine as in the fashion world.  Her power is unmatched, where in a review of a designer’s pre-viewing she forced him to redesign his entire collection with the pressing of her lips.  She is the ultimate boss knowing everything about her business. 

Well the boss or director at the centre is nothing like this character, but she is the boss.  Therefore, I drew her as the ultimate boss, Miranda Priestly.  She may be tough but she is fair and expects the best from everyone.  Truthfully, what is wrong with that? 

The director did not hate the character, but was curious about why I chose her.  I told her what I mentioned above but I found out that it wasn’t the character that she was upset about, but the fact that I used an older woman to model her after.  Also, she asked why I did not draw her thinner than I did.  I thought I did, but she wanted to be drawn thin like I did for Uma Thurman’s character Beatrix Kiddo.

I did remind her that this is just a caricature of her not a realistic version.  I did learn something that day.  I always knew that you always drew women caricatures thinner than they are but I also learned that you have to draw them younger too. 

Despite these little criticisms she did like the caricature, as did the rest of the staff.  I hope you enjoy my caricature of the staff member as Miranda Priestly.     

Staff Caricature: Meryl Streep as Miranda Priestly

Staff Caricature: Meryl Streep as Miranda Priestly

2 Responses to Art Inspiration: Staff Cartoons The Dream Team: Miranda Priestly

  1. mamacormier says:

    She’s right. You should have made her thinner. I always thought that caricatures emphasized people”s features and exaggerated them. If that’s the case she should have been thinner, unless I’m thinking of the wrong director.

    • Paul Gauchi says:

      Hi, Yes she says this every year, but like I told her too, the jacket covers up the thin waist line. You also have to be very careful making caricatures of women. You never know what people might think about what you emphasize and they might take offence.

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

