Friday Two Cents: Practice Makes Perfect


twoCentsOldNew

It is now the third week of me working in a kindergarten class from the beginning of the school year.   I am the Early Childhood Educator (ECE) working with a Kindergarten teacher in the room with 27 kindergarten children.  I can tell you that I am exhausted. 

The teacher and I are working hard to try to create an atmosphere of learning where they feel comfortable and safe.  At times it has been a challenge to say the least. But I have to give credit to these kids; they are so adaptable and understanding that it makes my heart feel good. 

Within the class there are two children with exceptional needs and at times they can be disruptive to the routine of the class.  Yet we tell the children that they just need extra help and we all have to be patient and help them understand the class rules.  And God bless these kids they try to help.  Some of the younger junior kindergarten children might not understand but they are trying to help. 

I have never worked with children how have exceptional needs to a degree as these two and I have to admit that I was a little apprehensive.  I have taken courses and some training for children with exceptional needs, but no practical experience.  However, there is a great special needs teacher that comes in and the teacher is also great.  I have learned a lot from them and the children are beginning to feel comfortable with them, even though my back is aching a bit.  Yet I am also starting to feel that there is some level of normalcy that is occurring in the room.  That the children are enjoying their time in school and therefore, so am I.

It’s not only me, the Kindergarten teacher sees it too.  The children are listening and they are getting use to the routine.  Yes the two are still far from getting the routine down but it is a work in process.  However there are signs that they too are adapting. 

We had an assembly about Terry Fox and the up coming run/walk.  They all sat well and enjoyed the presentation.  The teachers were pleasently surprised and had a sence of accomplishment. 

I guess it’s like what my music teacher always said, “Practice makes perfect.” 

Leo Mol's statue of Terry Fox in Ottawa

Leo Mol’s statue of Terry Fox in Ottawa (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

3 Responses to Friday Two Cents: Practice Makes Perfect

  1. cav12 says:

    I used to take a special needs class for reading once a week in the library. It was the most difficult yet rewarding time I spent as a teacher. From there I ‘fell’ into teaching yr 7 – 9 classes (boys) who had learning difficulties in reading. Hard work but out of all my classes I did enjoy working with them.

    • Paul Gauchi says:

      They are a joy exspecially when they do something wonderful and exceed what you or others might think they know. My biggest concern is that there needs to be more support for us in the classroom. There are times when one reacts or hirts the other children. We can only do so much and I do feel for the other child.
      One of the little girls is showing signs or fear and apprehension around him. Similar to what a child feels and acts like around a bully. I try and reassure her that he just needs some extra help and that he does not mean to hirt her or other children.
      At times like that my heart breaks because I feel for her and the other child. I so want to help but unfortunately even I have can only do so much.

      • cav12 says:

        I was fortunate as I had a support teacher as well as a teacher’s aide in the classroom. It made a big difference in helping the students as well as maintain classroom management.
        It’s a challenge for little ones especially if they haven’t been exposed to special needs children. They do adjust, that is one the fantastic features of introducing these children at such an early stage in the school system.
        I am sure you will do fine Paul. 😀

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

