Friday Two Cents: First day of Kindergarten


twoCentsOldNew

  In the end of April I was hired on as an Early Childhood Educator (ECE) supply teacher for the Toronto School board and I was lucky enough to work in a few schools with great teachers.  For the start of this school year I thought I would not get called in to supply until October or November but I got a call the night before school started on Tuesday.  I was at a new school for the first day of school and let me tell you what an experience. 

  Like I said I went into a new kindergarten class for the first day of school and for many of them this was the first time ever going to school.  I have to admit I was a little nervous too.  Not just because of being called into a new school for the first day, but because I wanted to make this first day special for the children.  

  Many of the junior kindergartens are 3-year-old and there were a few tears.  But after a few minutes they were alright and started fitting into the routine.  They were a little unsure at times after but you can see the excitement in their faces about experiencing something new.  It was amazing for me to see and experience. 

  You know, you never realize how strong children truly are until you see it first hand.  Mind you the teacher was great too.  She was and is very patient with then and made them feel welcome and at ease.  They both inspired me and I made it a point to bring in my puppets, sing a few songs with them and read them a couple of helpful stories to help them feel comfortable and welcome.  

  The real tragedy is that many people will never see what happens in a kindergarten class.  Many would say that it is organized baby-sitting and that the children are not really learning anything.  Something as important as printing your name is easy and any one can do it.  In reality it takes practice and hard work to hold a pencil and create the letters to the point where you feel comfortable enough to do it blindfolded. 

  The truth is that the children started a journey on a life long adventure of learning and exploration. They began by learning to print their name and to express themselves by drawing what they did this week.  To think for themselves. 

  Lao Tzu said,A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.”  The children took their first steps this week. Small steps made by courageous little people.  I just hope I helped in some way to make their first days in kindergarten special, inspirational and one to remember. 

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

