Friday Two Cents: Baseball, Best Shared With Others


 twoCentsOldNew

This week I went to my fifth and last baseball game of the season.  I have loved baseball since I was a child and it use to rank second to hockey, but in recent years it has become number one.  Yes I still love hockey, football and soccer but baseball is now it.   Yet I realized something, or more accurately I re-affirmed my feeling for the game.  It’s not just the game or the players but the company I am with while watching the game. 

I have been going to baseball games all my life but the feeling started last year when I took my ex-girlfriend to a ball game.  She is from Europe and had never been to a baseball game let alone a sporting event.  I took her to a game and she was not sure about it but in the end she actually enjoyed it.  More over I enjoyed taking her too. 

I thought at the time it was because she was my girlfriend and I wanted her to have fun.  Or that I was teaching her about the game and she enjoyed it, where many others did not.  But this year I had the same feeling of enjoyment with the people I went to the games with as well.  I realized that it wasn’t the game but the conversations we had during the game, the sense of friendship experiencing something together. 

Every game was enjoyable and quite honestly I didn’t really care too much about the score, even though I always keep score on the score sheet.  It was being with those people having a conversation, eating or just experiencing the event.  That was the fun. 

Perhaps that is why I enjoy baseball so much.  I even teach it to the children at the school and it is something I can share with them.  Something we can talk about or just have fun doing.  Maybe that’s why I have loved this game since I was a kid.  Not because I can play it or I understand it, but because baseball is best when you can share it with others.

 A few images from the games I went to this year.  

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

