Art Inspiration: The Greek Gods Distraction on Olympus: Olympus


 DistrationOnOlympus

 

“Distraction on Olympus” is a project I worked on with my students at the school I work in.  It was the final project for the drawing club where I taught the children how to draw in the style of comic and cartoon characters.  The class had decided to go with the theme of the Greek gods and I would help them draw a scene around that idea.

With all the different characters in place then came the task of creating a background.  These are the Olympian gods therefore we created what we thought was mount Olympus.  Mostly it was just a hill with apple trees on it but there was one element that I added and the children liked. The floating palace of the Gods. 

I started with a floating rock or island idea and then I added the Parthenon and the Oracle at Delphi.  I told the children a little about the Parthenon that it is in Athens and part of the Acropolis.  It is the Temple to Athena the patron god of the city. 

I also added the Oracle at Delphi on the left side of the Parthenon.  The Oracle at Delphi was a very prominent figure in the Ancient Greek world.  She was woman, a high priestess devoted to Apollo.  It has been mentioned in several sages including:

 

  1. The Theban Saga with Oedipus
  2. The Mycenaean Saga with Orestes
  3. Trojan Sage and Iliad with Telephus
  4. Jason, Medea and the Argonauts with Pelius 
  5. Even the Might Hercules went to the Oracle at Delphi

 

I added this as a way to say that even though humans have been to Olympus there is still one part on the gods can get to.  The children loved it and it added a lot to the final project.

I hope you enjoy Olympus, Palace of the Gods.

 

Olympus, Palace of the Gods.

Olympus, Palace of the Gods.

 

 

2 Responses to Art Inspiration: The Greek Gods Distraction on Olympus: Olympus

  1. Pingback: About My Next Post…. | Melanie's Life Online

  2. robartive says:

    Very cool

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

