Friday Two Cents: Learned Something New


twoCentsOldNew 

This week, I had a date with a beautiful brunette who is about 17 months old; she’s my younger niece.  Usually my mother would look after her but one day I looked after her while my mother had an appointment.  I was looking forward to taking care of her because I have been so busy with work and courses that I have not spent a lot of time with her. 

I was hoping to do something special and take her to the park, but if you have been in Toronto this week, you would know that we have been in a heat advisory.  We have had four – five days of plus 30 Co temperatures, with the humidity making it feel more like 38 – 44 Co.  With these extreme temperatures, I had to change my plans with her and I had to take her some place to keep her cool.  

So I took her to the mall.  Yeah I know going to the mall is not really a big deal but to a 17 month old, this was a new place she had never been to and everything was new and exciting. 

Therefore, after I dropped off my parents at the appointment, I took her to a nearby mall.  Once inside she was very interested in the people and all the different things around her.   She grabbed my hand and we began walking.  She walked the entire length of the mall and back again.  Along the way she would stop, look and touch different things.  It was in some ways very simple but I loved the way she looked at everything with such fascination and wonder. 

Eventually she got tired and I picked her up and place her in the stroller.  But her wonder didn’t stop.  She still wanted to see the different things and constantly pointed it out to me.  Suffice it to say the day was a hit with her and I enjoyed my time with her too. 

Once I took her back home I picked her out of the car seat and she put her head on my shoulder and gave me a long hug. I knew that I had tired her out and thought she wanted to sleep.  Nope, she just rested there and I enjoyed a nice long hug from her.  But the best is when after the hug; she spoke in her little voice to me and said, “Uncle.”  Then I just wanted to hug her for a long time. 

With all my running around for work and doing courses and not spending time with her, I thought I had to do something extra special to make up for it.  But instead I took her to the mall and to tell you the truth I was the one disappointed, not her.  I guess all she wanted was for me to just spend time with her.  To hold her hand and simply, go for a walk. 

They say you are never too old to learn something new.  Well my 17 month old niece taught me something new that day.

 

2 Responses to Friday Two Cents: Learned Something New

  1. cav12 says:

    What a beautiful story Paul. The innocence of little children and time spent with them should be cherished. Thank you for sharing your wonderful and personal experience.

    • Paul Gauchi says:

      Thank you. The innocence of my niece was and is so moving for me. How she sees things helps to remind me of what is truly important in this world.

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

