Comic Strips: A Student’s Work / Trying Something New


 

Usually I post comic strips that I create for the children that get posted in our monthly newsletter.  But in this rare occasion I would like to share with you a creation of one of my students.

In the school I work in I do many different clubs or classes for the children.  They range in interest from Baseball to art.  One club in particular, the children had an opportunity to flex their literary and creative muscles in the Journalism Club.  In it the children would write articles and I would place them in the monthly newsletter for the parents.

They would write movie and book reviews, articles on different subjects and of course one child would write and draw a comic. This one month I had a young man who wanted to create a comic but he did not know what to write about.  As I tell the groups before they choose an area to write about that comics are one of the most difficult things to create.  Making people laugh with words is not an easy task.

For the children who create the comics I give them a free range with no limits except it must be clean.  Our budding artist was stuck on what to make.  So I tried to help him with some ideas to get him going but it was hard to come up with something that would appeal to adults (the parents are our target audience not kids).

I do know that he has a passion for primates and I was steering him in the direction for using that passion in a comic.   We came up with several topics and he liked a few.   We went over the final idea for the comic and he liked the whole tone and concept of it.  However, he told me something that he was a bit embarrassed about.  He said he could not draw.

Now I sat him down and said “Bud, in the beginning I didn’t know how to draw either.  But I learned and practiced until I could. All you need to do is try.”  He was encouraged by this and I got him on a website that shows you how to draw.  We started to draw and I showed him a few things and he picked it up right away.

He went through a few tries but the final product was great.  Even the conversation in the comic was improved on as we went on.

He took it home, his mom helped with encouraging words and what you see below is truly fantastic.  It is smart, insightful and well drawn.  I told him that I was proud of him for trying something new and that he could do anything he wanted to do.

I asked him if I could post it on my Blog.  He was ok with it, but the smile on his face said it all. Buddy, you did a great job and you should be proud of yourself. I know I am of you.

I hope you all enjoy a young students first try at something new.

 

A student's First Step into Creating

A student’s first try at somthing new.

6 Responses to Comic Strips: A Student’s Work / Trying Something New

  1. Randy Garcia says:

    That’s Hilarious !! I Love It !! That Could Go Far And Make Good Money !!
    – Best Regards, ~Randy Garcia.~

    • Paul Gauchi says:

      Thanks Randy

      I told him that too. You never know, you could be seeing the first drawing of the next Stan Lee.

      All the Best
      Paul G

      • Randy Garcia says:

        Thanks Paul , I had the Same thoughts ! If You have time Check out A Few of My Blogs..Take Care And God Bless..

  2. mamacormier says:

    Paul I thought I knew who might have created this comic, based on the subject matter, but I was totally surprised when I discovered his name on the bottom right hand corner. Kudos to you for inspiring him to draw with so much skill.

    • Paul Gauchi says:

      Thanks he was gung ho about the comic especially when we tied in the primates. He is a good kid and he really tries his best on anything he does.

  3. Pingback: The Funnicks #172: Self-Employed Leroy | Gsting The Art

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

