Friday Two Cents: Top 5 Star Trek Episodes


twoCentsOldNew

This past week I have been looking forward to the Star Trek Into Darkness movie.  Some co-workers, parents and I were talking about it and we were reminiscing about the old series that started it all.  As I mentioned before, I love the older series and it had a big influence on me.

Added to this hype, I have been watching old episodes on the local science-fiction channel and this has been getting me all excited for the movie too.  But it also made me think about my favourite episodes from the series.  There are only 79 yet a few, I have to admit, are not that interesting.  However, there are few that really stood out for me and I’d like to share my top 5 Star Trek episodes with you.

5. Balance of Terror – While investigating a series of destroyed outposts, the Enterprise discovers a lone Romulan vessel with a cloaking device. The Romulans, having never been seen by humans, are revealed to visually resemble Vulcans, casting doubt on Mr. Spock’s loyalty as the two ships become locked in a cat-and-mouse battle through space.

This episode helped me to appreciate strategy.  From an early age I loved games, strategy games in particular.  Move counter move, from chess to board games to baseball, strategy is a part of everything.  Sometimes in the game of life as well.

4. A Taste of Armageddon – On Eminiar VII, the Enterprise finds a civilization at war with its planetary neighbor. Unable to discern any signs of battle from orbit, Captain Kirk leads a landing party to the surface where he discovers the entire war is fought by computer. Even though the war is simulated, citizens who are listed as virtual casualties still report to termination booths to be killed for real. After the Enterprise is destroyed in an attack simulation, Kirk must fight to keep his crew from death.

I grew up with stories from my father about his experiences in WWII but I never understood them.  I even played games that would glorify war.  Not until I got older did I realize that real war was not a game, that people died and had their lives effected by it.  This episode highlights that War is a dirty business and it should be avoided by all means.

3. Who Mourns for Adonais? – The crew of the Enterprise are held captive by an alien who claims to be the Greek god Apollo.

If you know me well, you will know that I love Mythology.  This episode was one of the first mythology exposures I got as a child.  From this simple beginning, it sparked a lifetime of learning and exploration into the world of myth and literature from around the world.

2. The Trouble with Tribbles – Tribbles – purring, limbless, and fertile – disrupt the exploitation of a disputed planet between the Klingons and Federation

What’s life without a little fun.  I just love this episode because it made me laugh.

1. Patterns of Force – The crew of the Enterprise visits a planet dominated by a Nazi culture and at war with its planetary neighbour.

As I mentioned before I grew up with stories about WWII and was curious about the whole time period.  I was taught about WWII in school but I had always felt that they were only giving me one side of the story.  So I started looking from all sides of the story to get the whole picture.  This episode made me look at everything for different points of views.

In my studies of history I came across a quote, ‘history is written by the victors’, and thereby one-sided.  There is also the ugly side of history people do not want to see or forget.  People try to avoid the truth about what happened in the past and in doing so fail to learn from it.

I strive to look at all sides of a story or issue and I encourage every student that comes to me and asks me a question about history, to do the same.  I know many people and societies would not encourage this or even to look into their own history.  But I would say, “Those who fail to learn from history are doomed to repeat it.”

There you have my top 5 Star Trek episodes.  I wonder what’s your top episode? Let me know.

 Live Long and Prosper

(Reference – Episode synopses from Wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Star_Trek:_The_Original_Series_episodes)

One Response to Friday Two Cents: Top 5 Star Trek Episodes

  1. Pingback: The Star Trek episode: The Squire of Gothas (made in 1966)

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

