25th Friday Two Cents: Kids Are All The Same, No Matter Where You Go.


twoCentsOldNew

25th Friday Two Cents post!  Amazing how time flies when you are speaking your mind.

This week I embarked on a new adventure as a RECE supply teacher at the Toronto District School Board (TDSB).  Here in Ontario, Canada we are going from a half-day kindergarten program to a full day program.  I was fortunate enough to get called in for a supply position this week within a kindergarten classroom.  However, that was not the best part.

The best was that the children in the class welcomed me with open arms, smiles and loads of questions.  They asked so many but here is a small taste, “How old are you?”  “Why are you tall?”  “Why do you wear glasses?” and my personal favourite, “Why do you have hair on your face and arms?”

puppets01

My Puppets
Simba the Lion, Charlie the monkey and George the Purple Monster

Their honesty and innocence was like a breath of fresh air.  Mind you I think they where more interested in my little friends I brought in.  They are a purple monster named George, a lion named Simba and a monkey called Charlie.  Just to clarify, these are my puppets I brought in for circle/story time.

These puppets mesmerized the children and in the case of George they could not take their eye off him.  He would talk to them about the activities in the room and they even asked him questions.  I loved to see their faces when he would dismiss them and they would all give him a high-five.

The rest of the time in the class was great.  The children accepted me and I couldn’t tell you how many hugs they gave me when I walked into the room.  I get the same response from the children at the school I work in, but it is good to know that ‘Kids are all the  same, no matter where you go.’

One Response to 25th Friday Two Cents: Kids Are All The Same, No Matter Where You Go.

  1. Pingback: Friday Two Cents: Kindergarten Logic | Paul Gauchi

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

