Friday Two Cents: It Does Effect the Children *50th Post*


twoCentsOldNew

When I first started this blog in November I was not sure if I would have the time to post anything on a regular basis.  But here I am almost 5 ½ months later posting my 50th post.  Wow.  I guess I do have something to say every week.  Hopefully this week can stir up a debate or two.  I am posting a poll question that the children posed to me and I am wondering what you think about it.  You can see the poll at the end of the post, but first the background story.

This week I had a very interesting discussion with a couple of children in grade 5 about the validity of all things, guns.  These children are very inquisitive and are unusually motivated to understand the world around them.  On many occasions they would approach me and ask questions on local politics, issues and news worthy items of the day.  The positive aspect about these children is that their parents encourage their inquisitive behaviour and welcome my point of view to their child’s exploration and discovery.

This week they asked me if I was in favour of guns.  I asked them if they were and they said no, (knew what their response would be).  I asked why and they came back with, with the shootings in Connecticut, the bombings in subsequent shootout in Boston and the bank robbery and shooting in Toronto, we would be better off.  That guns kill people, they said.

Well if you know me I am an instigator of debate and I love to play “Devil’s Advocate”, so I argued the opposite side.  I told them that guns don’t kill people, people kill people.  Guns are just a tool like a baseball bat or hammer.  A hammer is a tool used to serve a need but it takes a person to take a hammer to kill, that makes it wrong.  You don’t see society banning baseball bats or hammers.

I did say that guns are tools but they should be regulated and kept out of the hands of children and people who do not understand the power of that tool.  Just like a car can be used as a weapon, we limit who can have a license.  We should do the same with guns.

They appreciated my honestly and still said that we should ban all guns.  I told them that I wanted to let them know that there are always two sides to every argument.  Equally as passionate and determined as themselves.

The argument and debate made me stop and think about something though.  No, not about the gun debate but how the world issues are effecting the children. I love to see them open their minds to different ideas and possibilities, that’s why I play the ‘Devil’s Advocate’ with them.  However it would appear that these issues are creeping into the lives of our children.

I know many parents try to shelter their children from those issues and they have good reasons too.  But then I see these children embarrassing the issues and wanting to know more. We try to protect them from the world, yet they are seeking it out on their own.

I have to wonder if we are sheltering them too much.  Because despite our best efforts, these issues do effect the children after all.

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

