Friday Two Cents: The Important Things


twoCentsOldNew

After a stressful week I thought I would write about something that happened to me that makes you realise what are the important things in life.  Of course it came for the innocence of the children.

This week, I was able to get all four days of practice in for the eight teams in the t-ball and softball leagues at my school.  Two of the days are with the older children doing softball and two days with the kindergartens, grades 1 & 2s.  Each day I would take out two teams and show them the basics of the game and hopefully the children will learn something and of course have fun.

Unfortunately, last week I had to cancel our first day of training camp for two of the T-ball teams.  I don’t do much the first week, just throwing catching and the basics of where to run after hitting the ball.  Believe me, you might think that is a given but kindergarten children need, little reminders.  It is not the first time I have had hitters and base runners run after the ball or just run to the dug out. Hm, Hm, Hm.

But getting back to the canceled day, the children were a bit disappointed but I told them I would show them all what we missed the following week.  Thank goodness this week we had some better weather and we did get the practice in.  I asked them if they had fun and that they enjoyed themselves and they said that they did.  However, after we cleaned up and were going in, the other Kindergarten teacher came to me and said that the children had a complaint.  I was intrigued so I asked the teacher and the children what the complaint was so I can fix the problem.

You are not going to believe this but their complaint was that they never got the see the baseball movie I showed the other teams.  I usually show Goofy: How the Play Baseball after the first week practice just to have a fun start to the season.  I forgot to show the video to them and yet it is something very important to them.  So I told the children that after next week’s practice I will bring in the video and we can watch it together.  They all smiled and were happy with the solution, but I have to say that I smiled a big smile after too.

With all the tragedies in the world and stress we have in our lives, I guess it takes the innocence of a child to remind us what is really important.  Playing with your friends, learning something new, enjoying ourselves and maybe a mini movie of Goofy playing baseball are truly the important things.

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

