Friday Two Cents: Unlocking the Warmth


twoCentsOldNew

If you live in Toronto, Canada, this past week was far from what you might think of as spring.  The week started off that way but half way through the week we experienced winter’s return with freezing rain, ice pellets and wet snow.  Hardly the nice spring days we want.  In a word “Gloomy”.

However, a couple of spring activities started at my school to hopefully brighten the gloom. The first one is Baseball and T-ball Spring training. I run a house softball and t-ball leagues and you will not see the children’s sprits dampen by this weather.  Even when I do the warm-up routine with the children, they’re eagerness motivates me to push on.  The looks on their faces spurs me on and the children see my enthusiasm and their faces show genuine joy.

I think the fact that they are out doing something with their friends really makes the difference.  I saw this mostly with the kindergarten and grades 1 & 2 children when we were learning how to catch and throw for t-ball.  No matter how many times they might throw that ball, the kindergartens can never catch it.  However, they are the first to pick up that ball and try again.  Adorable comes to mind.

The second great activity is a program a few teachers are doing with the girls.  While I was working with the children on t-ball I observed my colleagues with a group of girls doing their own program called “Girls on the Run”.  A program that encourages girls to explore their limitless potential through fun experience based curriculum.  I saw the same joy and determination on their faces as well.

Perhaps it’s as simple as being active and doing something with others.  I know I felt better working with the children, the same feeling I saw in the faces of the teachers who do Girls on the Run.  The joy of sharing an experience is the key to unlocking the warmth within you, even on the gloomiest day.

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

