Friday Two Cents: I am Quite Ready For A New Adventure.


 twoCentsOldNew

Today something scary and interesting made me rethink a few things. 

I was in my home office/den working on a couple of things for my paper.  I was walking around the room cleaning before I would sit down and work on my paper.  After I finished up in there I went to get my bed sheets and get the laundry started.  About a minute or two after I left the room to get the sheets, the light fixture fell from the ceiling right where I was standing. 

Now this fixture is about 30 cm in diameter and height.  Furthermore, it is made of glass and weights about 2 kg.  Suffice to say it shattered on impact, making an ear-piercing crash. 

I looked back into the room at the sight of the damage and thought if I hadn’t moved I could have gotten hit by the fixture, then who knows what could have happened to me.  I could have gotten cut, a bump on the head/concussion or worst.  But the worst that did happen was my model of the aircraft carrier U.S.S. Enterprise was damaged.  Sorry to disappoint my old girl friends but I didn’t die.

After a moment of taking in the scene, I began the task of cleaning up the mess.  However, while I was cleaning I began reflecting on what if it did seriously hurt me or kill me.  In a blink of an eye I would be no more. 

Now this is not the first close shave I have had in my life.  I have been in accidents and situations where I blacked out or lose consciousness because of trauma.  They taught me to savour life’s moments because you never know. 

Here in Toronto, many have a 4-day long weekend to celebrate the Easter holiday.  A time of rebirth and renewal.  I was thinking of driving to Guelph for the day and visit the university to work on my paper and enjoy the nice weather.  I was about to not go and just stay in town and do the paper at home, but after this incident I thought, “What the hell am I doing staying at home for.  Go out on an adventure and meet different people, see different places.”  So, I’m going and I am going to enjoy myself and this experience/adventure. 

Life is too precious to be cautious all the time.  I am quite ready for a new adventure.

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

