Comic Strips: Another Lawyer


I have stated many times before, that I sometimes get my inspiration from the people around me.  Two boys in my school inspired this specific comic strip.  They are always asking me about politics, history, mythology and things you do not expect from grade 5s.  They are always looking for the legal reason for the rules of the school and challenging the rulings we make.  There is no simple answer for these two and if you do not have a logical explanation they will continue until there is no other recourse.

They say things are written for specific people, and they are so true.  When I was creating this comic, I had these two in mind from the start.  The one writing the letter is very politically minded and loves to argue his point of view.  So it mad perfect sense for him to write the letter.  However, his friend is no shirk.  He is ready, willing and able to pock holes in any argument, statement or theory.  Two perfect lawyers arguing the case for and against the issue.

When I published the comic the reaction I received was unexpected.  A few days after I sent out the newsletter the two boys came up to me with a colour printout of the comic and asked me to autograph the comic.  Well to say I was surprised and flattered would be an understatement.

Of course I signed it and then the parents came up to me after and told me that I got their children’s personality perfectly.  They loved the comic so much that they even printed a copy and posted it in their law offices.  Yes their parents are lawyers.  They told me that their colleagues said that that’s the boys’ personality to a tee.

Amazing how you can create something that came out of simple interactions with the children.  Then see how it can spark conversation and who knows what else.  Gee, I might have inadvertently encouraged two kids to continue the way they are going and grow up to become LAWYERS.  OMG, that’s all the world needs, another lawyer. (Ha, Ha, Ha.)

Well there are worst things they could become.  I’m not sure what they might be, but I guess we will let fate decide that.  In the meantime I hope you enjoy the comic as much as so many others have.

Dec2012NL03

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

