Friday Two Cents: Maybe one day, my bonds will be removed.


twoCentsOldNew

The story of Prometheus is ancient and varied, depending on who you read or hear it from.  However, like in many stories there is a lesson to be learned.  For those of you who do not know who Prometheus was or his significance, I will enlighten you.

Prometheus was a Titan god that sided with Zeus and the other Olympians in the Titanomachy to over though Zeus’ father Cronus and the other Titans. Prometheus is said to have created man out of clay and has been our greatest benefactor. He tricked Zeus into accepting the discarded bones, fat and unwanted parts of a sacrificial cow while giving the good eatable parts for man.  Zeus was not pleased with being tricked, so he took fire away from man and said, “Let them eat the meat raw.’

Prometheus stole fire from Mount Olympus and taught man how to use fire to cook, keep warm and for other uses.  For this Zeus punished Prometheus by chaining him to a mountain face and had an eagle come everyday to eat his liver.  Since Prometheus was immortal his liver would regrow every night and the eagle would return in the morning, to begin the painful torment again.

What lesson is learned in this story?  Is it that Prometheus was the first teacher?  Or that for the greater good sacrifices must be made? No, that, no good dead goes unpunished.

Prometheus helped man and set us on the road of learning and technological advancement.  But what was his reward?  Unending pain and anguish.

In many ways many of us are following in the footsteps of Prometheus.  We help others and we try to be good but what do we get out of it? Nothing but pain.

I, myself relate to the plight of Prometheus.  I try to be a good person and help others, thinking the reward is in helping.  But in reality I am just chained to the mountain and everyday and eagle rips out my liver and there is nothing I can do to stop it.

There are days when I look back and think “Should I have been less caring and not help others or be a good person?  Was it all worth this pain?”  Sometimes the answer that comes to me is, No.  No, it is not worth the pain I am feeling now.  There are days when I wish I was not the good guy, that for once I could be Bad.

I think to myself, what would I be like?  Lets say I’m my Evil Twin, Chuck lets call him. What would I be like? How would I think? Chuck might think along the lines like:

1)    Treat people of different races as beneath me instead of as equals!

2)    Treat women like objects instead of as persons with a mind of their own!

3)    A woman is there to serve the man and not equal to him!

4)    Who cares if I hurt you!  As long as I get what I want!

5)    I hurt you?  Big deal! That is you place!

6)    Everyone’s opinion is inferior to my own!

7)    If you do not agree with me than you are an idiot!

8)    There is only one way. My way!

This is what Chuck would be like.  The more I think about what Chuck is like, the more I see that I am nothing like him.  I am who I am.  I am the mirror image of Chuck.

Afterwards, I sit back and say to myself, “You are a good person, and I like being me and not Chuck.”  So I move on and say to those people, “If you do not like who I am you can go F— yourselves.”

My only solace is that Prometheus is eventually released from his bonds because he has forethought of what might happen with others.  That’s because Prometheus’ name means “forethought”.  Perhaps being a good person to others is my forethought with people. Maybe one day, my bonds will be removed.

2 Responses to Friday Two Cents: Maybe one day, my bonds will be removed.

  1. mamacormier says:

    Paul I don’t think I’ve ever heard you use the ‘F’ word. Sounds like something has been bothering you. Hope all is well.

    • paulgauchi says:

      I just had to rant a bit from all the struggles I have. I call it battle fatigue. I am constantly fighting the good fight but it does take a toll. Sometimes I just get so tired of the constant struggle that I need to just let it out. A warrior wanting to find a quiet place and just live in peace.
      Thanks for listening.

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

