Friday Two Cents: The Pen is Still Mighty


twoCentsOldNew

This past week I stared a new club at the school I am in called the “Journalism Club”.  I started this club last year but it was part of the curriculum for the different grades.  This year, however, I did not want to force the children to participate in the club. I wanted them to want to be in the club.

In the Journalism Club, the children would write articles on a variety of topics (their choice of course).  Then their articles would be published in the monthly parent newsletter for the whole school to see.  Many did enjoy the experience but I had to chase down too many children to submit their articles.  To be quite honest, I did not want to do this again and I saw that many would prefer playing computer games than write.

Therefore, I had children sign up for the club.   Two other clubs were offered to them as well to give them a choice of what they wanted to do.   I thought I might get about 13 children interested, however, once we asked the children to sign up for the clubs, I was overwhelmed by the response.  I had a top limit of 20 children and to my surprise the club filled up so quickly that I had to turn away children.  I told them that they would have another opportunity to participate in the next month.  They where disappointed but there could be at lest another 15 – 18 children interested.

The interest in the club alone was great to see, but this week I had my first two club meetings and their enthusiasm was amazing.  I have children ranging from grade 3 to 5 and they all wanted to get involved.  Even some of them wanted to write two articles.

The first meeting was to assign articles and the second was a small lesson on how to research their topic.  In both meetings they where attentive and enthusiastic, which made me excited about what these children can come up with.

When you start something you are never sure what kind of response you will get.  Do people like it, or hate it.  I knew there was a few children interested in the journalism club but not that many.  I guess I was influenced by the bias that children are not interested in writing as an art form.  Yes they love to draw, paint, sculpt and play music, but write?

I have never been more pleased to be proven wrong. 

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

