Friday Two Cents: Learning can involve Chocolate Chips


twoCentsOldNew

As some of you may or may not know, I am an Early Childhood Education (ECE) teacher and every week we program a curriculum based on themes that the children are interested in.  This week was my turn to program and the theme was my favourite, Dinosaurs.

I have loved dinosaurs since I was a child and this love has stayed with me as a teacher.  I love to pass on my knowledge to the children about the different dinosaurs and what makes each one great.

For the entire week I brought educational resources and activities to stimulate and educate the children on many different levels.  The whole week went great, however the one hit that I learned had nothing to do with dinosaurs.  It had everything to do with chocolate ship cookies.

For the week I had all manner of activities for the children.  Drawing, building skeletons and trivia research on dinosaurs.  However the best activity involved digging out chocolate chips from chocolate chip cookies.  They would use a toothpick and scrap around the chips to remove them.  Just like paleontologists would remove the rock from around a fossil.  An extra incentive was that they would get 1 point for every chip they dugout. This would go towards their teams’ monthly score, something like the houses’ points from Harry Potter.

Well, to say they where enthusiastic would be an understatement.  I am not sure if it was the activity or that they could eat the cookie part while digging and then the chips after recording their findings (personally I think it was the chance of eating a cookie), but it was a big hit.

chocolate_chip_cookie-300x276But that is not the end of it. The most interesting thing was that after all the numbers were calculated and recorded and doing a little math, I got an average chip count for each cookie.  Now I used “Chips Ahoy Cookies” and the final total was an average of 30 – 32 chocolate chips per-cookie.

Mind you the children all learned a lot about dinosaurs and I loved teaching them some interesting facts.  I know this from all the questions about dinosaurs they constantly bombarded me with.  However, the children and I learned an interesting fact too.  There is, on average, 30 – 32 chocolate chips in ever “Chips Ahoy Cookie”.

Some facts you can’t just learn, you have to experience them.

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

