Traditions are great, especially those you can share with others


With Christmas Day tomorrow, I thought it nice to show a Christmas tradition I started with my family but has changed over the years. 

It started about 15 years ago when I bought a train to go around my Christmas tree.  I didn’t just want a seasonal train but a HO scale model for the tree.  My family and I loved it right away and I also wanted to just have a few builds too. I love building models and creating things, so I did not want to buy ready-made builds for the Christmas town.  Instead I got some blank plaster homes and buildings that I had to paint. 

The first year I started with a train station and three houses. Then the next year I added more and more every following year.  I continued to add until I currently have 56 buildings.  They range from a black smith, dress shop, bank, fire hall and even a castle.  It got so large that it takes up about 2.5 square meters around my tree.  Everyone that cames over to my home loved it and they always enjoyed watching the trains go around the town and the tree. 

However, about four years ago I was blessed with a beautiful little niece.  I could not bring out the town and train for fear that she would break it or worse swallow a small piece.  So I decided to not to put out the town or train.  I was a little disappointed but my little niece’s safety always comes first. 

I told my co-workers about my decision and they suggested that I bring the town and train to the school to show the children.  I asked the principal and she thought it was a great idea, so I did.  The town is too large to place on the floor around the tree and there are hundreds of children in the school, so I decided to place it on a table in the main entrance for the whole school to enjoy. 

Well let me tell you, the children were beyond excited to see the town and train.  They and their parents loved it.  They would come up and say how much they appreciated me bring in the town for them to enjoy.  They were even more impress when I told them that I had hand painted every building in the town and that it took about 10 years to get the town to the size it is today.

Ever since I first introduced the town and train to the school, the children and staff ask if I will be bringing it in for Christmas.  Of course I say ‘Yes’.  Now it is something of a tradition for everyone at the school.  Fifteen years ago, I started a tradition with my family of a train and small town around my Christmas tree.  Now it has grown to involve my family and hundreds more children. 

This year I wanted to share my tradition of the town with you all so I took some photos of the town and train.  I also asked the children to paint a background for the town.  You can see it on the wall behind.  I then asked the music teacher from the school, if I could have a song sung by the school’s children’s choir.  She was more than happy to give me one.  With the song and photos in hand, I created a short slide show for you all to enjoy.

I hope you all enjoy this little Christmas tradition from me.  Merry Christmas to you all, and remember.  Traditions are great, especially those you can share with others.

Click on Link to download the Powerpoint Show.  TownandTrain02

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

